FIBS Board backgammon forum

Is there such a rule??

Author Topic: Is there such a rule??  (Read 6290 times)

Offline MichaelP7

  • Fibsboarder
  • ***
  • Posts: 23
Is there such a rule??
« on: September 29, 2014, 09:11:43 PM »
I was playing live the other day. At bearoff I had 1 checker at 19, 2 checkers at 22 and I was bearing off. Opponent had one checker at my 24 (his 1) plus others outside.
I rolled 52. Naturally i played 19/21 21/off. Opponent insisted that i should play the full roll hence play 19/24 22/24. He said something about having to play the highest number first...
We ended arguing and abandoning the match.
Well is there such an "official rule" or is it something not clarified yet?
I did encounter the same "rule" when I was  playing online at MSN zone in the past

FIBS Board backgammon forum

Is there such a rule??
« on: September 29, 2014, 09:11:43 PM »

Offline stiefnu

  • Moderator
  • Fibsboarder plus
  • ****
  • Posts: 459
Re: Is there such a rule??
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2014, 11:35:55 PM »
You were right, your opponent wrong. A player must use both numbers of a roll if this is legally possible but there is no compulsion to play the larger number first, except in situations where either number can be played but not both.  See  http://www.bkgm.com/rules.html  Rules of Backgammon, Movement of the Checkers, Rule 4.

Steve

Tags:
 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018