I'm new (in this incarnation) to FIBS. I was on FIBS way back, but not for long. I would like to ask about FIBS etiquette.
I was playing a 1-point match against another player (with lower rating and little experience). I was losing, badly, and would have lost a gammon. My chances of saving gammon were extremely slim, maybe even zero. The game had taken longer than expected and I was about to enter a FIBS tournament. So I resign n, to give my opponent 1 point and the match. My opponent is very, very upset about that.
My opponent insists that he -- he or she is probably a male -- would not have accepted the resignation because he wanted to win the gammon, and that I made the system accept my resignation.
My opponent instantly logged a complaint with repbot, and accused me of being a cheater and dropper in the lobby (i.e., shout). In private (i.e., tell) he said I cheated because I somehow made the system automatically accept my 1 point resignation and he wanted to win the gammon. He or she was also a bit vitriolic.
I have tried to explain that the system -- not me -- automatically accepts any resignation which offers enough points to win the match. I have tried to explain that it does not matter how many points you win a match by. But my opponent is not buying it.
I feel that at worst I am in violation of some unwritten -- or written somewhere that I haven't read it -- rule which says you should resign g or even resign b in this type of situation. In which case, I am terribly sorry. And had my opponent told me that, I would have immediately apologized, and learned my lesson.
Clearly, I am not a dropper -- I completed the match. I am not cheater -- I have no power to "make" the system accept my resignation. Looking at the Ratings formula, I can see that your rating is not affected by your margin of victory or whether you go over.
I also do not find anything on here about the etiquette of resigning. Did I violate some FIBSiquette (or worse)?
Afterword: Note that I tried to "rectify" the situation (to the extent that it needed rectifying). I invited my opponent to two 1-point matches. In the first, I instantly resigned backgammon, in the second, I instantly resigned gammon. Yet, I still had to request that he withdraw his complaint from repbot (which he then did).