News:

check out the backgammon problems...http://www.fibsboard.com/backgammon-problems/
y not post a position yourself - help is available on posting with pics and spoiler

Main Menu

New to Backgammon

Started by khona, January 07, 2007, 05:23:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

khona

Hello all!  First post here. 

I'm kind of new to Backgammon.  I have played every once in while since 2000 on MSN Game Zone but I have never seriously studied the game.  I've decided I want to learn how to play this game. 

I want to say - I hate losing Backgammon games!  Backgammon rips my heart apart when I lose! I find Backgammon more mean than Texas Hold'em.  Whenever I get hit and sent to the bar I feel like I've been slapped in the face!  And what really makes me made - I get the felling the people who are beating me are little eight year old kids.  After they crush me I bet they laugh how bad I played.  At least that's how I feel. 

Anyway, I want to learn strategy. Last week I ordered Backgammon for Winners by Robertie.  It hasnt' arrived yet and I can't wait to get it.  I hope it teaches me strategy so I can stop getting slapped around!  lol 

I've also printed out the basic openings and have started memorizing them. I got out an old Backgammon board I had around the house and started using it to help me memorize openings.

I have to admit, when I look at Backgammon from a distance it looks like a simple game.  But when I try to play seriously I realize it's a very complicated and detailed game with many levels. 

Last week I download Play65.  I've won some and lost some on the play money site.  They gave me 2.00 as a sign up bonus.  I lost .50, then won .50 (actually .47 or something), then lost .50, and last .50 again.  They wiped me out. 

I've also been messing around with Fibs for the first time ever.  I've been playing with three our four different interfaces trying to find one I like.