Retaliation from good-reputation droppers

Started by asdrubale, January 30, 2008, 01:24:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

asdrubale

EDIT: I already found the answer elsewhere. It seems that retaliation is indeed a strong deterrent in these cases.

First, I am sorry if this has been asked before, but I couldn't find a detailed explanation of repbot's algorithm for reputation calculation.

Yesterday, I started a match with a player of high (around 45000) reputation. Unexpectedly, he dropped me as soon as I was a strong favourite to win. (I can't completely rule out that wasn't an accident, but even if I eventually resume the following argument will still hold for future similar cases).

After waiting for a while and seeing he won't reconnect, I decided to complain about him. But, I thought, what happens if he complains back?

I'm a beginner, and had 30 reputation and around 300 experience. He had around 45000 reputation and 8000 exp.
I figured that there's a possibility my complaint would chip off some points of his reputation, but his retaliation complaint would put me in the negatives, probably impairing my ability to find someone to play with. I shouted for help, and I was told to look here.

So, can someone please tell me if my reasoning is correct? should I have complained?
Overnight, my reputation went up in the 1000s (don't really know why). In this new situation, should I complain?

Thanks in advance.

sixty_something

when you vouch for or complain against another player using RepBot your experience value, in this case 300 for you, is used to increase or decrease the other players reputation .. since your opponent has Exp=8000, you're correct to infer that you lose if mutual complaints are made .. if that were the case you'd be hit with a -8000 hickey

while it's not common for players with good reps to retaliate for no good reason, anything can and does happen in fibsland .. if it hasn't it will  :blush: