News:

Thx to our VIP donor/subscribers in 2009 cheers! .....webrunner, stog, spielberg, dickbalaska, b8factor, jackdaddy, anonymouse, diane, dropper, zorba, papillon, fiftythree, ramses, adrian, FrankBerger, krakan and ah_clem

Main Menu

Repbot Database Cleansing Policy

Started by inim, June 07, 2008, 05:04:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

inim

Repbot redeployment is in the last stages of completion now and it is time to think about the database. I got may requests to purge it from abuse, and tried to find a feasible solution to do so. First of all, trying to "correct" it manually is a futile attempt. There currently are about 16000 users casting 80000 opinions, so the sheer amount of data is prohibitive. Furthermore I am a technician and not a judge or psychologist to resolve long running disputes.

My personal opinion is that any cleansing should reflect the new rules of allowing only opinions (:= vouches and complaints) for some grace period after a match was played. "Played" means started, resumed, finished or dropped. I furthermore think bots should not be allowed to have opinions, and non-playing bots obviously should not get any opinions on them - they simply can't play.

So here is what I can do technically. Patti was kind enough to provide me a list of tuples (PlayerA, PlayerB) which represent all matches ever finished on FIBS between any player pair at any time since Moses was a boy. My suggestion now is to do what mathematically is described as the intersection of those unordered tuples with all unordered tuples of opinion casters (that is (Voucher, Vouchee) and (Complainer, Complainee). Whatever the intersection of those two sets of tuples is, that would be in the new DB. All other opinions would be deleted.