News:

click the little + - buttons to customise your Fibsboard (unclick them sometimes to see what you're missing :)

Main Menu

Game 1, Move 5: Herd 4-4

Started by diane, December 17, 2010, 09:03:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

diane

A few nexts..
Herd:5-5, 13/3 (2)
Skater: 2-1, 6/4, 5/4

Now the herd has a troublesome 4-4 to play, I am not sure there are that many choices really, but thought I would stall a bit  ;)

Never give up on the things that make you smile

skater

There something wrong with this position.  Although if you want to give me the 4 point I'll take it.

diane

skater

Sorry I'm still learning the ropes  ;)  Now I know to look for fast-forward.

NIHILIST

Why do our checkers appear in his home board instead of ours ? Please indulge an old, unemployed senior citizen with bad eyesight.

Bob
Robert J Ebbeler

diane

Quote from: NIHILIST on December 18, 2010, 01:00:51 PM
Why do our checkers appear in his home board instead of ours ? Please indulge an old, unemployed senior citizen with bad eyesight.

Bob

Because, in this game, skater started first..and we have ended up looking at the board the way 'the box' usually sees it...it does everyone good to look at the same thing from a different perspective now and then. The numbers will guide you if you use them..they switch, dependant on whose go it is..So in this shot with playing the 4-4, you are aiming for the point numbered 1  ;)

spielberg

Spoiler
I can hardly see any choice to be honest. 6 2 6 2 8 4 8 4 looks obvious
[close]

NIHILIST

After 30 years of play, I think I know how to play the checkers regardless of direction. What I haven't figured out yet is how to play our moves into his home board.

Regardless of direction, our home board should be at THE BOTTOM of the picture. If you dpubt this look back at any of the previous matches or set up a real board yourself. You'll find that YOUR home board is ALWAYS at the bottom of the board, closest to where you sit.