News:

bookmark Fibsboard to the front page for all the News http://www.fibsboard.com

Main Menu

Report on the DROPPERS, not the DROPPEES!

Started by McNabbMpls, December 19, 2010, 09:36:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

McNabbMpls

I have been playing backgammon for many years but I am new to the FIBS site.  I have been here only about two weeks and in that time I have played 59 matches.  I almost always play 5 point matches.

My current rating is 1603 and my Exp is 227.  My record is:

Won      33
Lost      19
Unfinished     7

Approximately one out of every eight of my matches has ended "unfinished".  These unfinished or "DROPPED" matches were:

Marcus                 5                4 -  2
DothisSon             5                2 -  1
melgardo              3                2 -  1
MauroCat             3                0 -  0
Pierrouchland      5                2 -  0
doonwal                5                2 -  4
AmorphysE           5                3 -  2
The unfinished matches are particularly frustrating for the following reasons:

1.    In all seven matches, my opponent disconnected and failed to return.  I waited patiently  to no avail.
2.   In all seven matches, I was ahead.  In several cases, I was one roll from victory.
For example, in the match with Marcus, he dropped when I had 2 checkers left in the 1 spot and it was about to be my roll.
In the match with doonwal, the cube was at 2, he had 2 checkers on the bar, and I rolled to close my board.  Immediately after, he dropped his connection and never returned.
3.   The failure to complete these matches significantly affects my rating, inhibiting my pursuit of matches with higher skilled players.
4.   The 7 "drops" has caused some of the best players to decline matches with me because they view me as a dropper and they have no knowledge of the circumstances of those matches.