News:

You can now show us where you live by placing a pin on the Google map in your profile.

Main Menu

How to play tournaments (for phone players)

Started by rebayona, June 22, 2012, 08:41:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rebayona

I've been playing backgammon on FIBS for over a year. It was a surprise for me that FIBS been running for all this time and I didn't found it until I installed an app for my phone, and I started playing backgammon on internet about 15 years ago. My favorite app  to play from phone (well, and the only one I know) is the one by odesys: Android - Ovi store - App Store

FIBS is not easy to understand for newbies like me. Even with deep internet and even programming knowledge, FIBS is not easy. It has its own codes, it has its own culture, pages are stucked on 1997, and when you first log in it is like a first day in school. And the feeling remains for a long time. Also phone users are treated like stray dogs here, so we're on our own... That's why I made this post, so we (phone users) can take part of tournaments too.

FIBS is a place where you can have a casual backgammon match for fun when you're taking a break or killing time, but for some people it would be better when are playing for glory. For competitive players, playing tournaments is not only fun, but a good reason / motivation to log in to FIBS every day. To play for "something" (which is nothing but the joy of seeing your name in the top of a list). Tournaments give you a good reason to engage with FIBS, have fun and meet nice, reliable and good players, And boost your ego if you want ;)

How do they work?
Backgammon tournaments on FIBS work very much like a tennis tournament. Single elimination: you lose, you're out, you win and face a new opponent until the final is reached in (most of the time) 3 to 4 rounds. It takes in average an hour, but it may take a lot longer, depending on how though you or your opponents are. Most of them are automatic and scheduled.

When?