News:

we welcome new Sponsors..keep the board going.....advertise your thing for a modest donation contact the webmaster@fibsboard.com

Main Menu

I can't play 5 pointers

Started by boop, May 12, 2013, 08:52:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

boop

The other day I mentioned on Fibs that I'd had a terrible day playing 5 pointers against gammon bots and could anyone give me any ideas on the difference between 3 and 5 pointers as I generally only play 3 pointers.
I said that I'd probably lost about 20 matches in a row and got caught up in a discussion about how accurate my memory was. (I'm pretty sure it was at least 12 - A LOT - and probably more)

The next day I went back to playing 3 pointers and got my rating back up to 1870 ( i've been hovering around 1900 for the last 6 months)

well today, 2 days later it's happened again and i've been counting. I lost 6 gammonbot 5 point matches, won 1, and then lost a further 13 in a row!!! I want to smash, kill and burn things ...

so ... what's occurring? ..... is the cube really different? ..... anything else? :(

KissMyAss

I find I hit patches like that with three pointers.  Look at your stats.... see where your highest percentage of wins are, and play to that for a while. 

I have a higher chance of winning one pointers than I do three or five or beyond.  So I play one pointers with bots, and the larger matches with people (usually during tourneys). 

You already know your rating climbs at three pointers, so play those for a while, build yourself a cushion of rating points you can afford to lose, then try to rehammer the five pointers.   

I don't know if it makes any difference or not, but to me it does.  My other technique is... if I win against one bot, I will play that one again.   If it beats me, I move on to a different bot.  Once i've lost to it, I don't re-play it again for a while.  Just to break its run of beating me.  Like I said, no idea if that actually makes a difference, but that's how I roll.  :)

Hugs