News:

enjoy the front page random images , random like dice on fibs! ethereal not material, and try and name them ..

Main Menu

Support for JavaFibs

Started by paulie, March 02, 2014, 06:00:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

paulie

It appears there is no longer any development being done for JavaFibs.  I would like to volunteer to support this software as there are a couple of enhancements that I would like to implement that would make this software favored over Fibszilla.  I studied Java programming about 12 years ago as a programmer/admin person.  Is the source available for perusal?  Probably the environment has changed significantly over the decade that I was doing Java, so maybe I am not able to do what I think I can, but I'd like to try.
I try to avoid experience; most experience is bad.   -Wilde

diane

Take some time to talk to inim on this one..it isn't straightforward, there are software ownership issues with the original author.
Never give up on the things that make you smile

Tom

Quote from: diane on March 02, 2014, 11:07:11 AM
Take some time to talk to inim on this one..it isn't straightforward, there are software ownership issues with the original author.

Yeah that is true, but after all these years I wonder if he really cares any more.

The issued dealt with who had a say in what features went in to the code.
We were working with the original author at making changes and improvements when things went south.

Tom

dorbel

Javafibs is already vastly superior to Fibzilla anyway.

paulie

Quote from: dorbel on March 02, 2014, 06:04:09 PM
Javafibs is already vastly superior to Fibzilla anyway.

Well, there are a couple of things that Fibszilla does better involving checker movement:
1) JavaFibs requires you to right-click to use the smaller number even if the larger number is illegal.  Fibszilla automatically recognizes this and makes the only legal move. 
2) Checkers occasionally disappear when being moved under JavaFibs.