News:

check out the new Small ads section (Menu top left of  front page ... Snowie 4! SOLD!!!!advertise on fibsboard and turn all that "hanging around software "into ready cash -- small ads just £5!!!

Main Menu

Position # 12

Started by PersianLord, February 29, 2008, 08:01:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

PersianLord

Red is leading 2-0 in a 9 pointer match and is also ahead in pip-counts (120 to 144). What's the right move with a 4-2 roll?

If you feel that my problems are too easy to slove, plz let me know. May be I'm the most novice here and these positions may appeal just to me  :huh:
The leftist's feelings of inferiority run so deep that he cannot tolerate any classification of some things as successful or superior and other things as failed or inferior. This also underlies the rejection by many leftists of the concept of mental illness and of the utility of IQ tests.  - T.K

spielberg

Spoiler
Red's problem here is the very imminent collapse of his 6 prime. White's timing to retain Red's loose man on the 23 also seems poorish. Accordingly I hit loose with a slot to my 2 point - even if I'm hit back I don't care that much. The 2 then plays itself as 13-11 would then be VERY obvious. This move is also very likely to give me a good cube on my next roll - lots of the time I will be too good to cube yet would against many (hoping they'd take obv.)
[close]

I found this an interesting one to have a think about PersianLord - and of course your problems aren't "too easy". Even if they were they'd encourage debate and not least give a glimpse of how the likes of hardy/dorb's etc thought processes work. Usually, in fact almost always, an expert's explanation of why a move is correct is extremely useful.

sixty_something

yes, PersianLord, your contributions are most welcomed .. the point of this series is to enable all users beginner and advanced to share problems, solutions, and discussion over approaches toward the goal of all of us improving our skills